Florida Statewide Mediator Listing
The Family Mediation Program provides Florida Supreme Court certified mediators to help disputing parties with open court cases. Most of the disputes involve family matters, either before or after divorce, including parental responsibility, parenting plans, child support, property division and alimony. Other family matters, including paternity, may be mediated.
Parties may only attend Family Mediation Program sessions once there is a current Order of Referral signed by the Judge in an open case. (Parties who would like to mediate family matters before any family court case has been opened, may do so through the Pre-filing Mediation
offered by the Citizen’s Dispute Program
Effective July 1, 2008 the following fees will apply:
- There is no charge for parties determined to be indigent by the Court. Applications for indigence are available at the Office of the Clerk of the Court and must be filled out, filed with the Clerk and approved
- $60.00 per person , per scheduled session, for parties with a COMBINED gross income less than $50,000 per year
- $120.00 per person, per scheduled session, for parties with a COMBINED gross income greater than $50,000 but less than $100,000 per year
- Parties with a combined gross income greater than $100,000 per year are not eligible for the Court Mediation Program
Fees must be paid prior to mediation. Both parties must provide the mediator with proof of payment or a Certificate of Indigence in order for the mediation to proceed.
In mediation, the negotiations are conducted primarily by the parties. The mediator has no decision-making authority. The mediator’s role is to encourage and facilitate resolution of the dispute by assisting the parties to identify the issues and each party’s needs and interests, fostering joint problem solving, and exploring settlement alternatives.
Prior to mediation, each party must file a current Family Law Financial Affidavit with the Clerk of Court. Parties with children are required to bring a draft of a Parenting Plan to the mediation.
The mediation conference is scheduled by the attorneys through the computerized JACS system. If neither party is represented by counsel, the session shall be scheduled by the Family Mediation Program office. Each mediation session is scheduled for a maximum of three hours.
Communications during mediation are confidential to the extent provided by law and are generally not admissible in Court. However, if the parties reach an agreement, and time permits, the mediator may prepare an agreement for the signature of the parties. If signed, the mediated agreement can be submitted to the Court for entry as a Court Order.